For Immediate Release Share This News Release

Six From Suffolk Earn Phi Theta Kappa All-NY Awards

Six Suffolk County Community College students were honored by The SUNY Chancellor as recipients of the Phi Theta Kappa ALL-New York Academic Award at the New York State Museum in Albany on Tuesday, March 8.

“I congratulate our outstanding students who are representative of the scholarship and achievement opportunities afforded by our institution,” said Suffolk County Community College President Dr. Shaun L. McKay. "This is a wonderful day for the students and our college."

Suffolk's winners are:

PTK 2016Amie Bernstein
, a Liberal Arts Psychology major, from Holbrook, New York with a 3.7 grade point average, serves as the International vice president for Division I of PTK and was a former chapter and regional president. Amie hopes to transfer to Indiana University in Bloomington or the University of Mississippi to study Psychology.

Alisha Hartman
, a Liberal Arts Bio major from Center Moriches, New York with a 3.9 grade point average is a Get There From Here Scholar, Orientation Leader, and serves as President of the Community Service Club. Alisha hopes to transfer to Stony Brook University to pursue a BS in Biology.

Elisandra Fini
, a Chemical Dependency Counseling major, from Huntington, New York, with a 4.0 grade point average serves as Vice-President of Phi Theta Kappa, and is a Get There From Here Scholar.

Elisandra hopes to transfer to St. Joseph’s College to pursue a BA in Adolescent Education.

Leorelkys Villar,  a Nursing student from Brentwood, New York, with a 3.9 GPA is a Get There From Here Scholar, Co-President of the Nursing Club, Vice-President of Fundraising for Phi Theta Kappa, and a student representative for the CTEA Local Advisory Council. Leorelkys hopes to transfer to Stony Brook University to pursue a BS in Nursing.

Abigail Heins
, a Criminal Justice major from Peconic, New York, with a 3.7 GPA, serves as an Orientation Leader, Peer Mentor, Editor of the Veterans Newsletter, Secretary of the Student Veterans Associations, and President of the Backyard Garden Group. Abigale hopes to transfer to Stony Brook University to pursue a BA in Psychology.

Dawson Kopp
, A Liberal Arts major from Aquebogue, New York, with a 3.6 grade point average, serves as President of the Honors Club and Vice President of the Phi Theta Kappa Chapter. Dawson hopes to transfer to Hofstra University to pursue a BS in Mechanical Engineering.

The Phi Theta Kappa Award Ceremony recognizes outstanding community college students throughout the state. The ceremony is sponsored by New York Community College Trustees, the New York Community College Association of Presidents, Community College Business Officers Association, and the Faculty Council of Community Colleges.

Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in higher education, serving nearly 1,300 colleges in all 50 states and nine sovereign nations. Members of the All-New York Academic Team are recognized for the academic achievements, leadership accomplishments, and engagement in community service.

Additionally, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors a Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team each year, and recognizes the New Century Scholars, which are the highest scoring students from each of the 50 states, Canada, and each of the six sovereign nations where PTK chapters exist. These students make up the All-USA Community College Academic Team. PTK will announce New York’s 2016 New Century Scholar April 12.

Suffolk's Abigail Heins was named a Coca-Cola scholar.