For Immediate Release Share This News Release

Unique Stay On Long Island Initiative Keeps Talent on Long Island, Suffolk Community College Students Earn Scholarships to LI Colleges and Universities

Twenty-seven Suffolk County Community College Students were awarded Stay On Long Island Initiative (SOLII) Scholarships that will provide full tuition for at a Long Island College or University.

The SOLII scholarship program conceived by Suffolk County Community College President Dr. Shaun L. McKay in 2010 to staunch Long Island’s “brain drain” by keeping talented, motivated students on Long Island and attending Long Island Colleges and Universities awarded scholarships totaling approximately $640,000 to 27 Suffolk County Community College students. The program has awarded more than $3.7 million in scholarships to 116 Suffolk County Community College students since its inception, McKay said.
“The SOLII Scholarships help our graduates achieve their academic dreams by continuing their education at quality four-year colleges and universities right here in our region,” President McKay said.
The initiative, McKay explained, provides full and partial-tuition scholarships to current Suffolk County Community College students who graduate and transfer to partnering four-year Long Island colleges that include: Adelphi University, Briarcliffe College, Dowling College, Farmingdale State College, Five Towns College, Hofstra University, LIU Post, LIU Riverhead, LIU Brentwood, Molloy College,New York Institute of Technology, The College at Old Westbury, St. John’s University, St. Joseph's College and Stony Brook University.


Left to right
First row (bottom): Loic Moussoh, Ivory Coast  (St. John's University), Ana Catalan, Riverhead (LIU Post), Celesse Vazquez, Mastic Beach (Stony Brook University), Suffolk County Community College President Dr. McKay, Veronica Chumbi, East Hampton (Five Towns College), Jessica Gutierrez, East Hampton (Adelphi University)

2nd row: Suffolk County Community College Counselor Tom Law, Sarah Nangeroni, East Northport (LIU Post), Evelyn Diessler, Hampton Bays (LIU Riverhead), Daniel Dellapina, Oakdale (LIU Post), Dr. Christopher  Adams

3rd row: Samuel Zang, East Setauket (Briarcliffe College) , Megan Meyers (Molloy College), Allison Brown, Farmingville (St. Joseph's College), Thomas Pirrone, Deer Park (Farmingdale State College), Carla Sutherland

4th row: Brianna DiPaola, Bay Shore (St. Joseph's College), Courtney Bocchieri, Bay Shore (St. Joseph's College)

5th row: Sanjib Dey, Deer Park (LIU Brentwood), Victoria Lohwasser, Bay Shore (St. John's University), Mary Katherine O'Connell (St. Joseph's College), Carissa Shevlin, Miller Place (St. Joseph's College), Yvette Adams, Deer Park (Stony Brook University), Tricia Wildman, Huntington (Hofstra University).

Last row: Marissa Klassert, West Sayville (SUNY Old Westbury), Cahide Temel, Port Jefferson Station (St. Joseph's College), Christopher Wallace