For Immediate Release Share This News Release

Six From Suffolk to Receive Phi Theta Kappa All-NY Awards

Six Suffolk County Community College students  -- the most at any single community college in the state --will be honored by The SUNY Chancellor as recipients of the Phi Theta Kappa ALL-New York Academic Award at the New York State Museum in Albany on Monday, March 9.

State University of New York Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher and officials from the City University of New York and Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society will host the USA Today PTK All-New York Academic Awards ceremony for community college students.

“Congratulations to our outstanding students,” said Suffolk County Community College President Dr. Shaun L. McKay. “These students are representative of the scholarship and achievement opportunities afforded by our institution. The student award recipients are a shining beacon for all of our students at Suffolk County Community College.”

The award recipients are:

  • Nicholas Contess    Smithtown
  • Steven Curcio         Patchogue
  • Brittany Improte       Lynbrook
  • Satoko Matthews     East Patchogue
  • Emily Rooney          West Islip
  • Tricia Wildman        Huntington

The Phi Theta Kappa Award Ceremony recognizes outstanding community college students throughout the state. The ceremony is sponsored by New York Community College Trustees, the New York Community College Association of Presidents, Community College Business Officers Association, and the Faculty Council of Community Colleges.