The start time of the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Suffolk County Community College, scheduled to be held on Thursday, March 21, 2019 at the Montaukett Learning Resource Center on the Eastern Campus, 121 Speonk-Riverhead Road, Riverhead, New York, has been changed to 3:00 p.m.

For Immediate Release Share This News Release

President McKay Recipient of Prestigious John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Award


Suffolk County Community College President Dr. Shaun L. McKay of Manorville has been named a recipient of a prestigious John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Award.  McKay is the third successive recipient from the College to receive this major award. The John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards celebrate outstanding contributions and leadership by community college faculty and staff.

President McKay is the third Suffolk County Community College recipient of the award. Kevin Peterman, faculty member and president of the Faculty Association won the award in 2014. Ammerman Campus Acting Executive Dean George Tvelia received the award in 2013.
“Through education, comes transformation and economic empowerment,"  Dr. McKay said.  “I am inspired by our ability to come together as a community of professionals in order to build upon past successes, and I am driven to ensure that we keep our daily efforts at the highest level. Directed by our mission, we can meet every challenge as we work to build our legacy. I am confident in our ability to achieve more than we did in prior years, while reaching beyond where the standard of excellence currently rests.”

About the John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Award

John E. and Suanne D. Roueche, leaders in the community college field and early proponents of the idea that teachers have major responsibility for how well students perform in the classroom, have been partners and friends of the League for Innovation in the Community College for over 35 years. What began as a working relationship with the founders of the League has evolved into a full-fledged partnership through collaborative efforts on projects of mutual interest and national concern.

In recognition of the long tradition of excellence in community college teaching and leadership, the League established the John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards in 2012. These awards are open to League Alliance member institutions to celebrate outstanding contributions and leadership by community college faculty and staff. Recipients are recognized in a series of activities and promotions, and honored at special events at the League's Innovations conference each spring.